CHP logo Home >> Varia

Challenge To Politicians In Louis-Hebert!

1) Actual challenge

Do you have the courage to come to Laval University for a debate on abortion?

For over 20 years now, Canada has given no protection to preborn children. Anybody can kill any preborn child, for any reason, from conception to birth (as long as the baby is not completely out of the birth canal).

How can the Bloc Québécois claim to defend the rights of Quebec, if over 42% of québécois children are killed before seeing the light of day?

How can the New Democratic Party (NDP) of Canada claim to defend the rights of unionized workers, if it doesn't dare show a bit of solidarity with the 110 000 preborn children who are killed each year in Canada?

How can the Green Party of Canada claim to have the courage of standing up to the rich and powerful companies, which prowl around the arena of globalisation, if they are afraid of a little democratic debate, done in front of Laval University students?

How can the Liberal Party of Canada claim to be immigrant-friendly, if the children of those same immigrants are in danger of death, because they try to enter into Canada through the birth canal, rather than by plane or by boat?

How can the Conservative Party of Canada claim to love honesty and transparency, if it doesn't dare to clearly defend its position on abortion during a democratic debate?

And if all the candidates cower away, who will defend the rights of women?

Stefan Jetchick, candidate in Louis-Hebert
Christian Heritage Party of Canada
www.chp-quebec.ca


2) Candidate's answers

For the answers, or non-answers, see the web page of all candidates.


3) Answers to some objections

3.1) "The issue of abortion isn't important, therefore there's no use talking about it."

What is the most important issue? Well-paved roads? Zero deficit? Depolluted watercourses? All these things are important, but you'll agree that human rights are more important. Good roads, balanced budgets and protected environments are important, because human persons need them! In any society, human rights are fundamental.

Now, what is the most fundamental human right? How can you have a healthy person, or a person who has a well-payed job, or a person with lots of freedom of expression, if you don't have a person? The most fundamental right is of course the right to life.

The issue of abortion is important, because the right to life is fundamentally fundamental; it's doubly fundamental for any society.

3.2) "A respectful and constructive debate on abortion is impossible, so no use trying."

Impossible? According to whom? Are you an expert on debates?

According to our research, there never has been a debate on abortion in Canada, strictly speaking. To see which definition of the word "debate" we use to assert such a thing, see (warning, this link will take you to a web site totally unrelated to the Christian Heritage Party) Abortion: Have We Done Our Homework?

3.3) "So what if abortion is a crucial issue, and if there's never been a real debate about it? The case is closed, the deal is done, so there is no use reopening old wounds."

Let's assume for the sake of the argument that abortion is good, and that parents really do have a right to assassinate their own children. Even if we make that crazy assumption, it would still be a good idea to have a good debate on abortion.

If you weed your garden perfectly, does that mean you'll never have to weed it again? Of course not! Gardens are living beings. Same with societies. Even if you consider pro-life arguments to be so wrong that they are like weeds, you still have to weed out those errors on a regular basis. And the best intellectual weeding tool is a good democratic debate. That way you can pull out the pro-life arguments, expose them to broad daylight, analyse them, then refute them.

We are not afraid to subject our pro-life arguments to this democratic test. Are you afraid that your pro-choice arguments are too weak to stand the test of public scrutiny?

Duel!
Duel!
[Source]

Contact Get Involved! Version française

Logo PHC Accueil

Défi aux politiciens dans Louis-Hébert!

1) Défi en tant que tel

Avez-vous le courage de venir à l'université Laval pour un débat sur l'avortement?

Depuis plus de 20 ans, le Canada n'accorde aucune protection aux enfants à naître. N'importe qui peut tuer n'importe quel enfant à naître, pour n'importe quelle raison, de la conception à la naissance (tant que le bébé n'est pas complètement sorti du canal de la naissance).

Comment le Bloc Québécois peut-il prétendre défendre les droits du Québec, si plus de 42% des enfants québécois sont tués avant de voir la lumière du jour?

Comment le Nouveau parti démocratique (NPD) du Canada peut-il prétendre défendre les droits des syndiqués, s'il n'ose pas montrer un peu de solidarité envers les 110 000 enfants à naître qui sont tués à chaque année au Canada?

Comment le Parti vert du Canada peut-il prétendre avoir le courage de tenir tête aux compagnies riches et puissantes, qui rôdent dans l'arène de la mondialisation, s'il a peur d'un petit débat démocratique, devant des étudiants de l'université Laval?

Comment le Parti libéral du Canada peut-il prétendre être favorable aux immigrants, si les enfants de ces immigrants sont en danger de mort, parce qu'ils tentent d'entrer au Canada par le canal de la naissance, plutôt que par avion ou par bateau?

Comment le Parti conservateur du Canada peut-il prétendre aimer l'honnêteté et la transparence, s'il n'ose pas défendre clairement sa position sur l'avortement, durant un débat démocratique?

Et si tous les candidats se défilent, qui va venir défendre les droits des femmes?

Stefan Jetchick, candidat dans Louis-Hébert
Parti de l'Héritage chrétien du Canada
www.chp-quebec.ca


2) Réponses des candidats

Pour les réponses, ou non-réponses, voir la page web de tous les candidats.


3) Réponses à quelques objections

3.1) «Le dossier de l'avortement n'est pas important, donc inutile d'en parler.»

Quel est le dossier le plus important? Des routes bien asphaltées? Un déficit zéro? Des cours d'eau dépollués? Toutes ces choses sont importantes, mais vous conviendrez que les droits de la personne sont plus importants. Les bonnes routes, les budgets équilibrés et les environnements protégés sont importants, parce que les personnes humaines en ont besoin! Dans toute société, les droits de la personne sont fondamentaux.

Maintenant, quel est le droit de la personne le plus fondamental? Comment pouvez-vous avoir une personne en santé, ou une personne qui a un bon travail payant, ou une personne avec beaucoup de liberté d'expression, si vous n'avez pas de personne? Le droit le plus fondamental est bien sûr le droit à la vie.

Le dossier de l'avortement est important, car le droit à la vie est fondamentalement fondamental; il est doublement fondamental pour toute société.

3.2) «Un débat respectueux et constructif sur l'avortement est impossible, donc inutile d'essayer.»

Impossible? Selon qui? Êtes-vous un expert sur les débats?

Selon nos recherches, il n'y a jamais eu de débat sur l'avortement au Canada, strictement parlant. Pour voir quelle définition du mot «débat» nous utilisons pour affirmer une telle chose, voir (attention, ce lien vous amènera sur un autre site qui n'a pas rapport avec le Parti de l'Héritage chrétien) Avortement: Avons-nous fait nos devoirs?

3.3) «Et alors? Même si l'avortement est une question très importante, et qu'il n'y a jamais eu un vrai débat à son sujet, qu'est-ce que ça change? La question est close, l'affaire est terminée, alors il ne sert à rien de réouvrir de vieilles blessures.»

Supposons pour les fins de la discussion que l'avortement est bon, et que les parents ont vraiment le droit d'assassiner leurs propres enfants. Même si on faisait cette supposition folle, ça serait quand même une bonne idée d'avoir un bon débat sur l'avortement.

Si vous sarclez votre jardin à la perfection, est-ce que cela veut dire que vous n'aurez plus jamais besoin de le sarcler? Bien sûr que non! Les jardins sont des êtres vivants. Même chose avec les sociétés. Même si vous considérez les arguments pro-vie comme étant des mauvaises herbes, vous devez quand même sarcler ces erreurs régulièrement. Et le meilleur outil de sarclage intellectuel, c'est un bon débat démocratique. Avec un débat, vous pouvez extirper les arguments pro-vie, les exposer à la lumière du jour, les analyser, et ensuite les réfuter.

Nous n'avons pas peur de soumettre nos arguments pro-vie à ce test démocratique. Avez-vous peur que vos arguments pro-choix soient trop faibles pour résister au test de l'examen public?

Duel!
Duel!
[Source]

Contact Militez! English Version